

15th IFIP WG 8.3 International Conference on Decision Support Systems

7-10 July, 2010, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Conference theme Bridging the socio-technical gap in DSS - Challenges for the next decade

In recent years, bridging the socio-technical gap has been a challenge in many areas of research. The socio-technical gap is the great divide between the social aspects aimed to be supported and those that are actually supported, due in part to technical limitations and in part to the complexity of the contexts where decision support must be provided. In Decision Support Systems, this challenge has raised several important questions concerned with the account and encapsulation of social aspects of managerial decision making as well as with the representation of certain human cognitive aspects, such as intuition or insights within computational systems. The IFIP TC8/Working Group 8.3 conferences present the latest innovations and achievements of academic communities on Decision Support Systems (DSS). These advances include theory, systems, computer aided methods, algorithms, techniques, applications and technologies supporting decision making.

Submissions from academics and practitioners are invited and showcases of real case studies will be especially welcomed. Manuscripts will be peer-reviewed. The acceptance of the contributions will be based on the originality of the work, the relevance for the conference theme and its overall quality.

Suggested research topics include, but are not limited to:

- Affect and emotion in Decision Support Systems
- · Decision Models in the real-world
- Executive Information Systems
- · Negotiation Support Systems
- Knowledge Management
- · Knowledge and Resource Discovery
- · Business Intelligence and Data Warehousing
- Group Support Systems
- · Collaborative Decision Making
- · Socio-technical aspects for DM in Geographic Information Systems
- Rich language for Decision Support
- Web 2.0 Systems in Decision Support
- Incorporating Complex Factors in Decision Support.

All accepted papers will be published in conference proceedings. Papers will be considered for publication as chapters of a book with the conference theme, published and distributed by IOSPress, in the FAIA series. Submitted manuscripts must be original contributions which have not been previously published or submitted for publication elsewhere. Accepted papers will be published only if at least one of the authors is registered in due time.





Post-conference publications

Following the tradition of IFIP WG 8.3 conferences, authors of the best papers will be invited to submit extended versions to special issues of such international scientific journals as Group Decision and Negotiation (GDN), Intelligent Decision Technologies International Journal (IDTJ), International Journal of Decision Support System Technology (IJDSST), and the Journal of Decision Systems (JDS).

Sponsored by







website http://dss2010.di.fc.ul.pt

Submissions categories

Keynote Speakers

Full papers – 8-12 pages Short papers – maximum of 6 pages Posters – maximum of 4 pages

Workshop proposals – 2 pages Important Dates

Paper submission due: January 15th, 2010 (extended) Workshop proposal due: January 15th, 2010 Doctoral Con. submission due: April 1st, 2010 Poster submission due: April 1st, 2010

Omar El Sawy, University of Southern California, USA Liam Bannon, University of Limerick, IR Carlos Bana e Costa, Tech. U. Lisbon, PT, and LSE, UK

Conference Chair Ana Respicio, University of Lisbon, PT Steering Committee

Frederic Adam, University College Cork, IR

Frada Burstein, Monash University, AU
Sven Carlsson, Lund University, SE
Patrick Humphreys, London School of Economics, UK
Piero Migliarese, University of Calabria, TT
Gloria Philips-Wren, Loyola University Maryland, USA
José Alberto Pino, University of Chile, CH
Ana Respicio, University of Lisbon, PT
Pascale Zaraté, IRIT-ENSIACET-INPT, FR
Program Committee Chairs
Ana Respicio, University of Lisbon, PT

Frederic Adam, University College Cork, IR Gloria Philips-Wren, Loyola University Maryland, USA Doctoral Consortium Chair

Frada Burstein, Monash University, AU Organising Committee

Organising Committee
Joao Telhada, University of Lisbon, PT
Carlos Teixeira, University of Lisbon, PT
Rita Almeida Ribeiro, Uninova-CA3, PT
Ana Respicio, University of Lisbon, PT
Program Committee

Frederic Adam, University College Cork, IR Carlos Antunes, University of Coimbra, PT Pedro Antunes, University of Lisbon, PT David Arnott, Monash University, AU Marko Bohanec, Jozef Stefan Institute, SL Marcos Borges, Fed. U. Rio de Janeiro, BR Patrick Brezillon, University Paris VI, FR Tung Bui, University of Havaii, USA Frada Burstein, Monash University Monash, AU Guy Camilleri, IRIT, Univ. Paul Sabatier, FR Sven Carlsson, Lund University, SE Athena Chatjoulis, N. Kapodistrian U. Athens, GR Joao Climaco, University of Coimbra, P Fatima Dargam, SimTech, AT & ILTC, BR Marco De Marco, Catholic University, IT Luis Dias, University of Coimbra, PT Lucia Garcia-Lorenzo, LSE, UK Shanks Graeme, The U. of Melbourne, AU Patrick Humphreys, LSE, UK Peter Keenan, University College Dublin, IR Garrick Jones, LSE, UK Claudia Loebbecke, University of Cologne, DE Shaofeng Liu, University of Plymouth, UK Andrew McCosh, Univ. of Edinburgh, UK Robert Meredith, Monash University, AU Piero Miglarese, University of Calabria, IT Lapo Mola, University of Verona, IT Manuel Mora, Aut. University of Aguascalientes, MX Jose Maria Moreno, Univ. Zaragoza, SP M. Franca Norese, Politecnico di Torino, IT Sergio F. Ochoa, University of Chile, CL Dan O'Leary, Univ. of Southern California, USA Zita Z. Paprika, Corvinus Univ. Budapest, HU David Paradice, Florida State University, USA Gloria Phillips-Wren, Loyola U. Maryland, USA Jose A. Pino, University of Chile, CL Daniel Power, University of Northern Iowa, USA Franck Ravat, Univ. Toulouse I Capitole, FR Ana Respicio, University of Lisbon, PT Rita Ribeiro, UNINOVA, PT David Sammon, University College Cork, IR Chantal Soule-Dupuy, IRIT, FR Stanislaw Stanek, U. Economics Katowice, PL Carlos Teixeira, University of Lisbon, PT Joao Telhada, University of Lisbon, PT Rudolf Vetschera, University of Vienna, AT Pirkko Walden, Abo Akademi University, FL Gerard Wilhelm Weber, Middle East Tech. U., TR George Widmeyer, New Jersey Inst. T., USA Pascale Zaraté, IRIT-ENSIACET-INPT, FR

E-mail: dss2010@di.fc.ul.pt

Martin Znidarsic, Jozef Stefan Institute, SL Secretariat: Rodrigo Marques, OR Center, PT

Voice (+351) 217 500 027