

Caucasian Mathematics Conference (CMC)-II

Van, Turkey, August 25 and 26, 2016

First Announcement

The second Caucasian Mathematics Conference (CMC-II) will be organized in Van, Turkey, on August 25 and 26, 2016 under the auspices of the European Mathematical Society and the cooperation of the Armenian, Azerbaijan, Georgian, Iranian, Russian and Turkish Mathematical Societies.

The scope of the Caucasian Mathematical Conference (CMC) is to bring together mathematicians from Caucasian and neighbouring countries biannually in one of these countries. The first CMC was organised in Tbilisi, Georgia on September 5 and 6, 2014. The CMC is partially supported by the EMS and is welcoming mathematicians from all over the world.

The **Scientific Advisory Committee** of CMC-II consists of the invited speakers of CMC-I who could participate to the conference. The committee selects the invited speakers and young mathematicians proposed by the Steering Committee. Its members are:

Garib N. Murshudov, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

Dmitri Orlov, Steklov Institute, Moscow

Samson Shatashvili, Trinity College, Dublin

Leon Takhtanian, University of Stony Brook

Cem Yalçın Yıldırım, Boğaziçi University, İstanbul

The **Steering Committee** has been formed for the management of the CMC-conferences and consists of representatives of participating countries and institutions:

Carles Casacuberta (ex officio; Chair of the EMS Committee for European Solidarity),

Mohammed Ali Dehghan (President of Iranian Mathematical Society),

Roland Duduchava (President of the Georgian Mathematical Union),

Tigran Harutyunyan (President of the Armenian Mathematical Union),

Misir Jumayil oglu Mardanov (Representative of the Azerbaijan Mathematical Union)

Pavel Exner (ex officio; President of the European Mathematical Society),

Armen Sergeev (Representative of the Moscow Mathematical Society and EMS),

Betül Tanbay (President of the Turkish Mathematical Society).

The Steering Committee is responsible for the scientific program of the conference, finalization of the invited speakers and young mathematicians (under 40), selected by the Scientific Advisory Committee upon proposal from the National Mathematical Societies. The Chair of each CMC conference is the Steering Committee member from the country where the conference is located.

The **Organizing Committee** is responsible for organizing the second conference and consists of Peyami Battal (Honorary, Rector), Ayşe Berkman (Vice-chair), Zeynep Kayar (local), Betül Tanbay (Chair, ex-officio), Ali Hakan Tor (local), Cemil Tunç (Dean), Ayberk Zeytin (Scientific Secretary).

Program of the conference: Invited Talks (3-4 talks per day, 45 minutes each) and Parallel Sessions with contributed talks (20 minutes) to be launched by at least five participants.

Conference fees: 30 USD or equivalent in TL (Turkish Lira), or in Euro. Organizers will apply for a financial support to different foundations and, in case of success, will offer accommodations to selected participants.

The conference website will be announced in September 2015.















